Hotel Am Rosenhügel

Attractions near us

The region of southern Thuringia offers not only lovely landscapes but also numerous sporting and cultural "highlights". Due to its central location, our hotel is an ideal starting point for hiking and cycling tours in the region.

We can especially recommend the following attractions:

Meiningen

Theater Meiningen Meiningen belongs to the jewels of Thuringia with its great musical and theatrical history, historic buildings from the 19th century, spacious parks and castles. In addition to its theatre and museums, Meiningen offers many other attractions including:

Monastery & Museum in Veßra

The museum complex with the Veßra monastery is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful and impressive sights in Thuringia. Particularly interesting is the village dating back to the 18th and 19th centuries. Some of the most beautiful half-timbered houses of the Henneberger district were disassembled and rebuilt here as an ensemble. Completely furnished with the inventory of its epoch, they create an impression that the residents have just left their houses.

 There is also something to see for technics fans: a tractor exhibition and a turbine museum in the former monastery mill. By the way, the turbine generates electricity for the museum as well.

Arms museum in Suhl

Waffenmuseum SuhlIt is no coincidence that there is an arms museum in Suhl. The local tradition of can-making is already 500 years old. This trade boomed during the 30-year-old war with its pipe-makers and lock-makers.

More information at: www.waffenmuseumsuhl.de

Marine Aquarium in Zella-Mehlis

Immerse yourself in the colorful underwater world of the tropical oceans in the marine aquarium and be enchanted by the unique beauty of bizarre corals and sea anemones, unique fish, reptiles and living rocks. At the Marine Aquarium, visit a unique Thuringian one-million-liter shark pool, where lemon sharks, nurse sharks, sand tiger sharks and leopard sharks romp about.

More information at: www.meeresaquarium-zella-mehlis.de

Thuringian Celtic Adventure Trail

Region GrabfeldCeltic adventure trail is a long-distance hiking trail in Thuringia and Bavaria. It is about 200 kilometers long and lives up to its name, as it leads past numerous museums and monuments that remind of the time of the Celts.

Steinsburg Celtic Oppidum

Located in the saddle of the Gleichberge Mountains, this special museum of prehistoric and early-history eras of southern Thuringia offers vivid insights into the economic and cultural life of the Middle Stone Age around 8000 B.C. until the High Middle Ages.

More information at: www.thueringen.info/roemhild-steinsburgmuseum.html

Oberhof

Sprungschanzen OberhofThe famous winter sports resort Oberhof located directly on the Rennsteig (see: www.rennsteig.de) is home to numerous well-known winter sportsmen. Legendary are the World Cups in biathlon, bobsleigh, cross-country skiing and Nordic combined.

In summer, hiking and MTB tours along the famous Rennsteig trail are especially popular.

For further sightseeing hints we recommend visiting the website: Thüringen.info

Urlaub in Thüringen - Hotel am Rosenhügel - Jüchsen bei Meiningen
Hotel Am Rosenhügel

Ausflugsziele

Die Region in Südthüringen bietet neben Ihrer liebenswerten Landschaft auch zahlreiche sportliche und kulturelle „Highlights“. Durch die zentrale Lage ist unser Hotel ein idealer Ausgangspunkt für Wander- und Radtouren in der Region.

Besonders empfehlen können wir Ihnen die folgenden Tipps:

Meiningen

Theater Meiningen Meiningen gehört mit einer großartigen Musik- und Theatergeschichte, historischen Bauten aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, großzügigen Parks und Schlössern zu den Städteperlen Thüringens. Neben seinem Theater und Museen bietet Meinigen noch viele andere Sehenswürdigkeiten darunter insbesondere:

Kloster & Museum in Veßra

Die Museumsanlage mit dem Kloster Veßra zählt zweifelsohne zu den schönsten und beeindruckendsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Thüringen. Interessant ist insbesondere das Dorf aus dem 18. und 19. Jahrhundert. Einige der schönsten Fachwerkhäuser des Henneberger Landes wurden abgetragen und hier als Ensemble wieder aufgebaut. Komplett eingerichtet mit zeitgemäßem Inventar vermitteln sie den Eindruck, die Bewohner hätten ihr Häuser gerade eben verlassen.
Auch für technisch versierte Besucher wird einiges geboten: eine Traktorenausstellung und das Turbinenmuseum in der ehemaligen Klostermühle. Mittels der Turbine wird ganz nebenbei gleich der Strom für das Museum erzeugt.

Waffenmuseum in Suhl

Waffenmuseum Suhl Dass es in Suhl ein Waffenmuseum gibt, ist kein Zufall. Ist doch die hiesige Tradition der Büchsenherstellung schon 500 Jahre alt. Seine höchste Blüte erreichte das unter Rohrmachern, Schäftern und Schlossmachern organisierte Gewerbe im 30-jährigen Krieg.

Mehr Infos unter: www.waffenmuseumsuhl.de

Meeres-Aquarium Zella-Mehlis

Tauchen Sie in unserem Meeresaquarium ein in die farbenprächtige Unterwasserwelt der tropischen Ozeane und lassen Sie sich von der einmaligen Schönheit bizarrer Korallen und Seeanemonen, einzigartiger Fische, Reptilien und lebender Steine verzaubern. Besuchen Sie im Meeres-Aquarium ein in Thüringen einzigartiges Eine-Million-Liter-Haibecken, in dem sich Zitronenhaie, Ammenhaie, Sandtigerhaie und Leopardenhaie tummeln.

Mehr Infos unter: www.meeresaquarium-zella-mehlis.de

Keltenrundwanderweg Thüringen

Region GrabfeldDer Keltenerlebnisweg ist ein Fernwanderweg in Thüringen und Bayern. Er ist circa 200 Kilometer lang und wird seinem Namen gerecht, da er an zahlreichen Museen und Bodendenkmälern vorbei führt, die an die Zeit der Kelten erinnern.

Kelten-Museum Steinsburg

Im Sattel der Gleichberge gelegen, bietet unser Spezialmuseum für Ur- und Frühgeschichte Südthüringens anschauliche Einblicke in das wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Leben der Mittelsteinzeit um 8000 v. Chr. bis zum Hochmittelalter.

Mehr Infos unter: www.thueringen.info/roemhild-steinsburgmuseum.html

Oberhof

Sprungschanzen OberhofDer bekannte Wintersportort Oberhof - direkt am Rennsteig gelegen (Tipp: www.rennsteig.de) - ist Heimat zahlreicher bekannter Wintersportler.
Legendär sind die Weltcups im Biathlon, Bob, Skilanglauf und der Nordischen Kombination. Im Sommer sind Wanderungen und MTB-Touren auf dem berühmten Rennsteig beliebt.

Für weiterführende Tipps empfehlen wir Ihnen die Website: Thüringen.info